When you decide to grow your plants, you’ll need to decide on how large of a garden you want, what plants and flowers you’d like to plant and cultivate, and which methods for growing plants work best for your climate region. There are some important rules in Michigan regarding registering with the State of Michigan’s Office of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (OLRA) to obtain a growers license in michigan.
If you have any questions about licensing requirements or would like more guidance for becoming licensed as a grower in Michigan, contact the Department of Agriculture with this information.
What Is a Growers License In Michigan?
A growers license in michigan is a permit issued by the Michigan Department of Agriculture to allow a licensed person to grow, sell, and cultivate plants for sale in Michigan. If you’re looking to start your own business as a grower, the licensing rules are critical to starting your business. Again, if you have any questions about obtaining a growers license or would like more guidance on the process, contact the Department of Agriculture with this information.
If you are interested in starting your own grower’s business, you must determine the type of grower’s license that’s right for your business. Each license type has different rules and regulations, so it helps to understand the requirements before applying.
The following is a list of the different types of growers license in michigan that the Michigan Department of Agriculture issues:
Class A Growers License.
For Class A growers, you must be able to cultivate at least twenty-five thousand square feet at an indoor facility or grow outdoors at least six hundred thousand square feet. This license is for large-scale crop growing (at an indoor facility) or outdoor farming operations. To start a business as a Class A grower, you have to have at least $500,000 in capital or $100,000 for every acre or part of an acre that you will cultivate.
Class B Growers License.
For Class B growers, you must be able to cultivate at least one thousand square feet indoors or cultivate outdoors at least five hundred square feet. Class B growers are smaller-scale business operations that sell their plants to wholesalers and retail establishments, such as florists or garden centers. To start a Class B grower business, you have to have a $50,000 capital investment for every 10,000 plants or one thousand dollars for every acre that you are going to grow plants on.
Class C Growers License.
For Class C growers, you must be able to cultivate at least two thousand five hundred square feet indoors or out at least one thousand eight hundred square feet. To start a Class C grower business, you have at least $100,000 in capital investment. The Class C license is the most popular because you don’t have to have a large operation to meet this requirement.
So Here Are The Some Steps Need To Follow To Get A Growers License In Michigan:
1. File an Application for Growers License
The duties for this type of license are to grow, sell and cultivate plants. They must meet certain standards to qualify for a license and must comply with the laws that protect the environment. You will need a valid business license. The State of Michigan does not require that you have a business license. However, suppose you plan on selling or cultivating over $1 million in crops or plants during the growing season. In that case, you will need to apply for a commercial license with OLRA before cultivating more than a thousand six hundred square feet indoors or cultivating at least one thousand square feet outdoors.
2. Submit the Required Documents
You must submit a business plan, proposed property plans, and insurance information. You will also need to submit any additional documents listed on the application for a commercial license. The types of insurance required for growers license in michigan include comprehensive general liability, automobile liability, property damage liability, and workers’ compensation insurance. If you are applying for a Class C grower or Class B growers license, you will need at least $100,000 in capital investment or $50,000 per 10,000 plants or one thousand dollars per acre. You must also have this amount in cash when applying for your growers license.
3. License Fees
All new license applications require a one-time non-refundable fee of $125.00 for a Class A growers license and a $100.00 application fee for a Class B growers license. If the grower’s operation is over two thousand five hundred square feet or over thousand eight hundred square feet. There is an additional annual license fee based on this size limit. The license fees are:
If you are applying for a Class C grower or Class B growers license in michigan. You will also have to submit an initial deposit of $1,000 per acre that you plan on cultivating or $10,000 per 10,000 plants. The annual license fee will be $75 per Class C or Class B grower, with the annual license fee applied to each acre or plant you cultivate. The annual license fee is prorated for any unused portion of the previous year’s license.
4. Submitting Your Growers License Application
After you submit your application, the Department of Agriculture will complete an inspection with you to check all of the information you submitted to ensure that it is complete and meets the requirements for a growers license in michigan. You will need to provide witness information in case they do an inspection. An inspector will review your business and property plans before issuing your license. The inspector may want to amend or add to your property plans if they feel it’s necessary.
If they find that you are out of compliance with any part of the standards and regulations during their inspection. You may be subject to fines and criminal penalties. You will also receive a letter from the Department of Agriculture stating that you failed to meet the requirements for a license.
These are preliminary steps to get a growers license in michigan in your state. If you want more detailed information about how to get a growers license in Michigan, go online and research your options. There are plenty of online resources available for you and your business. You can contact the Michigan Department of Agriculture if you need assistance or to clarify some points.
As with any business, there are many risks involved. However, if you have a great business plan and the money needed for a grower’s license, you will succeed. I wish you all the luck in the world!